I'll tell you.... I couldn't wait to get married, become mommy, and move into a nice big home. I am here! I want to make it clear up front, though, that I am VERY greatful for my life. I love my husband, my children, and I am very happy with my home. But, finding time to care for it all is exhausting!
I am constantly mulling ideas in my head about how to make things better. Things like making the house more organized, making the house more attractive, teaching the boys how do be more respectful, how to get in better shape, and so on, and on, and on... My husband likes to point out that I get a certain look on my face when my mulling starts. Unfortunately, it is like I have no control when it happens. He and I might be in the middle of a conversation, and suddenly..... I'm mulling.
Anyway, we have lived in our house for almost seven years now, and we have s-l-o-w-l-y changed and added things to make it a home. It wasn't until this past year, for crying out loud, that I finally hung curtains!
When we picked our current home to live in, we opted to build. In my niave young mind, I thought this would make everything all hunky dory. I envisioned walking across lush green grass, into the front door on moving-in day, placing all of our furniture in just the perfect arrangements, and living happily ever after. Well, just let me tell you!
We moved in with our first born son, who was only about 1 1/2 years old at the time, and our second born son was due to grace us with his presence in about five more months. So, needless to say, I was tired.... already!
Yeah, we did a few things over the years. We grew some grass (well, if you want to call it that,) finished the basement, added a deck to the back of the house, and thanks to an awesome friend of mine (Tammy!) we have beautifully painted rooms to dwell in. Oh, and now we have three little boys!
Yeah, we did a few things over the years. We grew some grass (well, if you want to call it that,) finished the basement, added a deck to the back of the house, and thanks to an awesome friend of mine (Tammy!) we have beautifully painted rooms to dwell in. Oh, and now we have three little boys!
For the longest time, my biggest desire had been my kitchen. When we built, we upgraded a few things off the bat like appliances and cabinets. But, deciding on a themed design as far as decor and color, it took me a long time to decide. As you saw in a previous post, I have finally made!
So, you might be wondering what my current gripe is. Well, it is our basement. When we finished it, we did so with the boys in mind. We knew it would mostly be a playroom. However, we made a spontaneous decision to add our media room. My husband was excited to have a room to decorate in his own taste (the Cincinnati Bengals, or course!) It was suppose to be a place to sit and watch football games, and the occassional movie. The problem? Well, okay, besides it being the Bungals we root for... It's the TOYS! There are so many toys down there, that it is like tackling an obstacle course just to get to the media room!
I spent my entire day, yesterday, cleaning and organizing the basement. Yes, progress was made. I have tubs of items of specific interest such as, Legos, Playmobil, Star Wars figures, Matchbox cars, building blocks, etc. Everything was on the floor in the biggest mixed-up jumble I had ever seen! It was miserable and satisfying, all at the same time, taking care of this business.
The thing now, is that the floor is clean, but the basement is still not very attractive. I long for everything to be attractive. I guess it is because I am female, living with all males,... I should add. Have you figured that out yet? That I am the only female in my home? Maybe it has become my desperate attempt at holding on to girldom? I don't know. I do need some inspiration and advice on the basement issue, though. I realize that I don't actually have a reader base, but just in case, here are some current photos, after the toys have been picked up, thank goodness!
Okay, I know, it is an eye-sore. The air hockey table is going. Once it is gone, this area will be much better. Now, we will get to the bottom of the steps and turn right. That leads us to..... |
| ... what was once our school room. I have since found it depressing to do school in the basement. Maybe once I make it more attractive, we will return. So, maybe the chalkboard stays??? |
| I think this has always been my favorite part of the basement. Well, besides the media room. Once we finished the basement, we ended up with this little nook-like spot. My husband built these shelves for me, and I got the storage containers on sale at The Container Store. When all the containers are in their places, it actually looks nice. When the boys get older and we no longer need toy storage, I am thinking the shelves can be for things like board games and such. |
| Turning left, and towards the media room... |
| I know, not attractive at all! |